SHORT BOOK REVIEW: KING OF SCARS BY LEIGH BARDUGO

Hi friends! I thought I’d do a short review on one of my fave books I’ve read so far this year, King of Scars!

36307634

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Pages: 527

Blurb: Nikolai Lantsov has always had a gift for the impossible. No one knows what he endured in his country’s bloody civil war—and he intends to keep it that way. Now, as enemies gather at his weakened borders, the young king must find a way to refill Ravka’s coffers, forge new alliances, and stop a rising threat to the once-great Grisha Army.

Yet with every day, a dark magic within him grows stronger, threatening to destroy all he has built. With the help of a young monk and a legendary Grisha Squaller, Nikolai will journey to the places in Ravka where the deepest magic survives to vanquish the terrible legacy inside him. He will risk everything to save his country and himself. But some secrets aren’t meant to stay buried—and some wounds aren’t meant to heal.

My thoughts on this book:

It felt so good to get back into the Grishaverse after like a year after reading Ruin and Rising 😂

I absolutely loved Nina’s POV and some of the scenes she was in was so heartbreaking, I was crying before I even reached the halfway point of this book😂❤️ And Nikolai omg where do I even begin😂😂 I absolutely loved reading about him in Siege and Storm and it’s was just as amazing to read from his POV in this book✨ I was also never a big fan of Zoya but I think for me she redeemed herself in this book and she’s now one of my fave Grisha characters😍

Leigh’s writing was magical as always and the plotting and world building was just fantastical ✨the banter between the characters was hilariously sassy and so much fun to read. Although it was not as fast paced as I thought it would be, the entire story was really well written and the plot twists were well placed.

I’m so excited to read the next book because there were many unanswered questions that left me hanging 😭

I rated it a 4/5 ✨

Would I recommend this book?

Definitely! But I recommend reading it after the Grisha trilogy ✨

I hope all of you have a lovely day!

Until the next blog post,
– the Joyful Reader♥

Leave a Comment